• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Meta

  • Recent Comments

  • Blog Stats

    • 217,395 hits
  • Editors

  • RSS Recent RoBlog Posts

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Archives

The Creation: Part 2

The Creation: A short story by Briguy9876

Part 2

This should be impossible. No material in the world of Robloxia should be this pitch black. The only way it could be this pitch black is if it was taking all the light hitting it and throwing it into some unknown location. It was a black hole housed inside a cube. But I wasn’t here to look, I was here to experiment, and the only way to do that was to take the cube out and hold it myself. I made sure my gloves were secure, and I pulled the cube out of it’s final enclosure.

A piercing alarm cut through my delicate processes, and made me drop the cube back into it’s enclosure. The alarm was clear, even through my safety gear. I started to fix the cube to fit properly into it’s protective box when I heard the blast doors in the lab lock fully. I stopped putting the cube away, because the doors will lock if there’s been a breach in the labs. I don’t know which specific lab was breached, but it had to be one nearby to trigger a lock in this lab block. Or worse yet, it could have been my lab.

I could hear more security doors closing, making the alarm fainter and fainter. There was no way for me to communicate with the outside because they didn’t want to wire communications through several feet of concrete and steel. Right now, there wasn’t much I could do except to wait, and since I was stuck inside, I might as well continue testing on the cube. Saying I worked through a containment breach might get me some respect around the lab anyways.

The testing proceeded normally. Cube had a smooth surface, but I didn’t want to take off my gloves for a better feel. Cube dimensions were exactly 1 by 1 by 1. Zero radiation from the cube, which is a bit odd considering the background does have some minor radiation. Cube weighed exactly one unit. Nothing seemed too odd until I got to the last section: age.

We test the decay of certain elements of the cube to gather it’s age. Normally we’d have to break off a sample of the object in order to test it, but I was specifically requested to put the material in whole. The tester will be less accurate because it’s open to the rest of the lab, but it will get close. I brought the cube over to the machine, and placed the cube inside on a metal stand, leaving the door open. The machine began to power up, spinning the cube in order to get more testing area.

However the machine quickly began to rattle, and I thought the door was loose because I had to keep it open. On closer inspection I noticed the cube was spinning much faster than the machine should be able to spin it. I tried to shut the machine down, but it was stuck in it’s testing cycle, feeding data out until it was sure of what it was looking at. The machine began to move, and the table with it. Not wanting to have a table fall on me, I backed away until the machine finished, or destroyed itself. Whatever came first.

The cube began spinning so fast, a hum emanated from it. Faster, and the machine stopped rattling. Faster, and I could see the cube had become airborne. Faster, and the lights in the room began to dim. Faster, the lights dimmed more. Faster, and I could barely see the black cube in the nearly black room. Faster, and it was pitch black. I heard the hum grow louder and louder until finally it ceased, the lights returned, and the cube was floating just over the machine.

I approached slowly, not wanting another accident. The cube was silent, sitting in the air like it was anchored there. I didn’t want to grab it at first, but I felt like it would be worse to leave it there. The instant I grabbed it, the cube lost it’s power of flight and became a servant of gravity once more. I hustled over to the container for the cube to protect me from it, but it didn’t fit. It wasn’t too obvious at first, but the cube had grown during that incident. It wouldn’t fit in it’s container anymore. I brought it to the other side of the lab, and went to go check on the machine.

It was still functional, and was ready to give a readout of it’s findings. I found my notes and began to write down what it said. Test: Complete. Accuracy: 95% Age: 5,000,000,000 years old. Wait, five BILLION? That can’t be right, but the machine said it was sure of it’s findings, and I didn’t want to test again. But, that number…

Robloxia is 5 billion years old… this cube was part of the creation of Robloxia.

